• In June 2019, RAM Racing, the nation’s premier endurance sports event production company, acquires the Chick-fil-A  Louisville Triple Crown of Running to salvage the previous owners decision to cancel the series. RAM Racing adds the Allstate Hot Chocolate 15k/5k as the final leg of the Triple Crown of Running and retains both a 5K and 10K as the first two legs. 

  • The 3-race series has contributed over $1.8 million to the Crusade for Children since 2002.

  • In 2009, the series replaced the ChampionChip race timing system with the new state-of-the-art ChronoTrack Timing System with the disposable D-tag. In 2010, all three Triple Crown events went with today's 'B-tag' disposable bib chip. CLICK HERE for additional information on this state-of-the-art timing system.

  • In 2007, The Louisville Triple Crown of Running offered the first Team Challenges for all events.

  • On June 24, 2003, Triple Crown Race Organizers announced the "NEW" Louisville Triple Crown of Running for 2004, omitting the Kentucky Derby Festival miniMarathon and featuring the Anthem 5k Fitness Classic.

  • Each year, nearly 20,000 runners participate in at least one of the three events.

  • Nearly 4,000 hardy runners complete the annual series and earn the Triple Crown T-shirt and bragging rights each year.

  • There is no additional entry fee required to participate.

  • The first Triple Crown of Running took place in 1984 and featured the Rodes City Run 10K, the Run for the Arts 15K (sponsored by the former Liberty National Bank) and the KDF miniMarathon.

  • The only runners to win all three consecutive races and capture the Triple Crown of Running were Luisa Hamm in 1984 (Triple Crown debut), John Wellerding in 1986, Stan Clark in 1991, Camille Estes in 1993, Mary Anne Lyons-Tonini in 1996, 1997 & 1998, and Jim Estes in 1999.  The 2001 Triple Crown Winners were (Women's Division) Christina Wells, (Wheelchair Division) Chad Johnson; 2002 Winners were James Mutuse, Christina Wells and Chad Johnson; and 2004 and 2007 featured Susie Bush and Jamie King-Oshea, respectively, as winners of the Triple Crown series.  In 2008, Erin Nehus, and in 2009 Camille Herron, respectively won the Triple Crown in the female division. In 2012, Pius Nyantika won the Triple Crown series in the men's division while shattering the course record in the RCR 10K. Ernest Kibet swept the 3-race series in 2017 and Sarah Pease in 2018.

  • Runners consistently use the series races as a training schedule to condition themselves for the local mini/Marathon and/or regional or national marathon events.

  • In 1997, the Louisville Triple Crown of Running gained national attention when the series was highlighted in two issues (January & February) of Runner’s World Magazine.

CLICK HERE for more information on the rich history of the Triple Crown race series!


Chick-fil-A  Louisville Triple Crown of Running
Louisville, KY



Join the conversation...

©2021 Chick-fil-A  Louisville Triple Crown of RunningSM

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram